Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Date and time:  Thursday 18 April 2024, 14:00 hours (2.00 pm UK GMT)

Location: L1 Main Meeting Room, Richard Doll Building, Old Road Campus, Headington, OX3 7LF

To Join: This is a free event, which will be taking place both in-person and online via Zoom/Microsoft Teams. Register

Abstract: We estimate the impact of a large-scale, community based multisectoral suicide prevention intervention in Australia on healthcare resource use and costs. We exploit a stepped-wedge, cluster randomised controlled trial and use a large linked government administrative dataset on services related to hospital, primary care and medicines. An event-study difference-in-difference analysis with a synthetic control was employed to account for different start dates within local health networks. We find a heterogeneous change in resource use and costs related to the intervention by patient age, gender, marital status, indigenous group affiliation and socioeconomic status. 

Bio: Professor Henry Cutler is the inaugural director of the Macquarie University Centre for the Health Economy (MUCHE). MUCHE is one of four research centres within the Australian Institute of Health Innovation, Australia’s largest and most diverse health services research group. Professor Cutler has led over 180 commissioned research publications for government and non-government organisations over the last 20 years. He is currently a chief investigator on several MRFF and NHMRC funded projects totalling $32.0 million. He currently sits on Australia’s National Suicide Prevention Office Expert Advisory Board.